2011 James S. Cogswell Outstanding Industrial Security Achievement Awards

ALEXANDRIA, Va. – The Defense Security Service (DSS) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2011 James S. Cogswell Outstanding Industrial Security Achievement Award. Seventeen facilities have been selected for the award, which will be presented at the annual NCMS training seminar on June 22, 2011, in New Orleans, La.

The Cogswell Award, established in 1966, is named in honor of the late Air Force Col. James S. Cogswell, the first chief of industrial security within the Department of Defense. Cogswell was responsible for developing the basic principles of the Industrial Security Program, which include an emphasis on the partnership between industry and government to protect classified information. This partnership ultimately ensures the greatest protection for the U.S. warfighter and our Nation's classified information. The Cogswell Award recognizes industrial security excellence.

This year, DSS presents the James S. Cogswell Outstanding Industrial Security Achievement Award to 17 of 13,300 defense contractors that are subject to recurring inspection. The award criteria focuses on principles of industrial security excellence. Factors include establishing and maintaining a security program that far exceeds the basic National Industrial Security Program requirements; and providing leadership to other cleared facilities in establishing best practices while maintaining the highest standards for security.

The Cogswell Award selection process is rigorous. A DSS Industrial Security Representative may only nominate facilities that have at a minimum two consecutive superior industrial security review ratings and which show a sustained degree of excellence and innovation in their overall security program management, implementation and oversight. The Cogswell Award is given for outstanding achievement in matters related exclusively to a facility's security program. DSS makes the final selections.

DSS is proud to recognize the following recipients of the 2011 Cogswell award:

Booz Allen Hamilton, Inc.
Rome, N.Y.

Cubic Applications, Inc.
Lacey, Wash.

General Dynamics C4 Systems, Inc.
Scottsdale, Ariz.

Jacobs Technology
Houston, Texas

L-3 CyTerra
Orlando, Fla.

Alexandria, Va.

L-3 Services, Inc.
Panama City Beach, Fla.

Lockheed Martin Corporation, LM Security Operations Center
Orlando, Fla.

Lockheed Martin Missiles and Fire Control
Troy, Ala.

Lockheed Martin Missiles and Fire Control
Grand Prairie, Texas

MEADS International, Inc.
Orlando, Fla.

National Conference Services, Inc.
Columbia, Md.

Oxford Global Resources, Inc.
Beverly, Mass.

Raytheon Missile Systems
Louisville, Ky.

Raytheon Network Centric Systems
Marlborough, Mass.

Sierra Nevada Corporation
Beavercreek, Ohio

SRI International Sarnoff
Princeton, N.J.