2009 James S. Cogswell Outstanding Industrial Security Achievement Awards for

Alexandria, Va. – June 13, 2009

The Defense Security Service (DSS) is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2009 James S. Cogswell Outstanding Industrial Security Achievement Award. The 14 facilities selected for the award will receive recognition at the annual training seminar of the National Classification Management Society (NCMS) on June 17, 2009, in Anaheim, California.

The Cogswell award, established in 1966, is named in honor of the late Air Force Col. James S. Cogswell, the first chief of industrial security within the Department of Defense. Cogswell was responsible for developing the basic principles of the Industrial Security Program, which include an emphasis on the partnership between industry and government to protect classified information. This partnership ultimately ensures the greatest protection for the U.S. war fighter and our Nation's classified information. The Cogswell Award recognizes industrial security excellence.

This year, DSS presents the James S. Cogswell Outstanding Industrial Security Achievement Award to 14 of over 12,500 defense contractors that are subject to annual inspection. The award criteria focus on principles of industrial security excellence. Factors include establishing and maintaining a security program that far exceeds the basic National Industrial Security Program requirements; and providing leadership to other cleared facilities in establishing best practices while maintaining the highest standards for security.

The Cogswell Award selection process is rigorous. A DSS Industrial Security Representative may only nominate facilities that have at a minimum two consecutive superior industrial security review ratings and which show a sustained degree of excellence and innovation in their overall security program management, implementation and oversight. The Cogswell Award is given for outstanding achievement in matters related exclusively to a facility's security program. DSS makes the final selections.

DSS is proud to recognize the following recipients of the 2009 Cogswell award:

Advanced Acoustic Concepts
Columbia, MD

Alliant Techsystems, Inc.
Eden Prairie, MN

Booz Allen Hamilton, Inc.
Colorado Springs, CO

Goodrich Corporation
Danbury, CT

L-3 Communications SSG
Wilmington, MA

L-3 Communications TCS, Inc.
Warner Robbins, GA

Lockheed Martin
Information Systems & Global Services - Defense
Papillion, NE

Motorola Inc.,
U.S. Federal Governments Markets Division
Columbia, MD

New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology
Socorro, NM

Raytheon Company, Missile Systems
East Camden, AR

Raytheon Company, Integrated Defense Systems
Sudbury, MA

Sensis Corporation East
Syracuse, NY

Spectral Sciences, Inc.
Burlington, MA

Zebra Imaging, Inc.
Austin, TX