2008 James S. Cogswell Outstanding Industrial Security Achievement Awards

Alexandria, Va. – June 10, 2008

The Defense Security Service (DSS) is pleased to announce the facilities selected to receive the 2008 James S. Cogswell Outstanding Industrial Security Achievement Award. Twenty-three (23) facilities have been selected for the award, which will be presented at the annual training seminar of NCMS on June 18, 2008 in Mashantucket, Conn.

The Cogswell award, established in 1966, is named in honor of the late Air Force Col. James S. Cogswell, the first chief of industrial security within the Department of Defense. Cogswell was responsible for developing the basic principles of the Industrial Security Program, which include an emphasis on the partnership between industry and government to protect classified information. This partnership ultimately ensures the greatest protection for the U.S. war fighter and our Nation's classified information. The Cogswell Award recognizes industrial security excellence.

This year, DSS presents the James S. Cogswell Outstanding Industrial Security Achievement Award to 23 of 12,000 defense contractors that are subject to annual inspection. The award criteria focuses on principles of industrial security excellence. Factors include establishing and maintaining a security program that far exceeds the basic National Industrial Security Program requirements; and providing leadership to other cleared facilities in establishing best practices while maintaining the highest standards for security.

The Cogswell Award selection process is rigorous. A DSS Industrial Security Representative may only nominate facilities that have at a minimum two consecutive superior industrial security review ratings and which show a sustained degree of excellence and innovation in their overall security program management, implementation and oversight. The Cogswell Award is given for outstanding achievement in matters related exclusively to a facility's security program. DSS makes the final selections.

DSS is proud to recognize the following recipients of the 2008 Cogswell award:

Arcata Associates, Inc.
Las Vegas, NV

ATK Space Systems
Dayton, OH

Battelle Memorial Institute
Columbus, OH

Black River Systems Company, Inc.
Utica, NY

Boeing Aerospace Operations, Inc.
Midwest City, OK

COLSA Corporation
Huntsville, AL

Control Systems Research, Inc.
Valparaiso, FL

David H. Pollock Consultants, Inc.
Westwood, NJ

General Electric Global Research Center
Niskayuna, NY

Infinity Systems Engineering, LLC
Colorado Springs, CO

L-3 Communications, Communications Systems East
Camden, NJ

Lockheed Martin Missiles and Fire Control
Lufkin, TX

Lockheed Martin Services, Inc.
Colorado Springs, CO

Lockheed Martin Simulation, Training & Support
Orlando, FL

MTS Technologies, Inc.
Johnstown, PA

Raytheon Company
Portsmouth, RI

Raytheon Technical Services Company
White Sands Missile Range, NM

Sabre Systems, Inc.
Warminster, PA

Scitor Corporation
Colorado Springs, CO

The Aerospace Corporation
Arlington, VA

The Boeing Company
Houston, TX

The Boeing Company
Midwest City, OK

The MITRE Corporation
Hanover, MD