2007 James S. Cogswell Outstanding Industrial Security Achievement Awards

Alexandria, Va. – June 13, 2007

The Defense Security Service (DSS) is pleased to announce the facilities selected to receive the 2007 James S. Cogswell Outstanding Industrial Security Achievement Award. Thirty (30) facilities have been selected for the award, which will be presented at the annual training seminar of the NCMS on June 20, 2007 in Reno, Nev.

The Cogswell award, established in 1966, is named in honor of the late Air Force Col. James S. Cogswell, who was the first chief of the unified office of industrial security within the Department of Defense. Col. Cogswell was responsible for developing the basic principles of the Industrial Security Program, which include an emphasis on the partnership between industry and government to protect classified information, which ultimately helps to ensure the protection of the U.S. war fighter. The Cogswell Award is the most prestigious honor DSS may bestow on a cleared facility and is presented annually.

DSS presents the James S. Cogswell Outstanding Industrial Security Achievement Award to only a select group of defense contractors. The criteria for this award focus on principles of industrial security excellence, which include establishing and maintaining a security program that goes well beyond the basic National Industrial Security Program requirements; and providing leadership to other cleared facilities in setting exacting and high standards for security. The Cogswell Award is given for outstanding achievement in matters related exclusively to a facility's security program.

The Cogswell Award selection process is rigorous. A DSS Industrial Security Representative may only nominate facilities that have at a minimum two consecutive superior industrial security review ratings and which show a sustained degree of excellence and innovation in their overall security program management, implementation and oversight. DSS makes the final selections.

DSS is proud to recognize the following recipients of the 2007 Cogswell award:

Advanced Systems Technology, Inc
White Sands Missile Range, N.M.

Aptima, Inc
Woburn, Mass.

ARINC Engineering Services, LLC
El Segundo, Calif.

Battelle Eastern Science and Technology Center
Aberdeen, Md.

Albuquerque, N.M.

DCS Corporation
Lexington Park, Md.

EG&G Technical Services, Inc.
Norfolk, Va.

Electric Boat Corporation
Quonset Point Facility
North Kingstown, R.I.

First Federal Corporation
Gaithersburg, Md.

General Dynamics Armament & Technical Products, Inc.
Burlington, Vt.

Gleason Research Associates, Inc.
Columbia, Md.

Information Manufacturing Corporation
Rocket Center, W.V.

Kaman Aerospace Corporation
Helicopters Division
Bloomfield, Conn.

L -3 Communications Corporation
Budd Lake, N.J.

Lockheed Martin Transportation and Security Solutions
Rockville, Md.

Logistics Management Institute
McLean, Va.

ManTech Systems Engineering Corporation
Panama City Beach, Fla.

MEADS International, Inc.
Orlando, Fla.

Northrop Grumman Defense Mission Systems, Inc
Mt. Laurel, N.J.

Northrop Grumman PRB Systems, Inc.
Niceville, Fla.

Raytheon Company
Aurora, Colo.

Raytheon Company
State College, Pa.

Rockwell Collins Simulation and Training Solutions, LLC
Binghamton, N.Y.

Science Applications International Corporation (SAIC)
Beavercreek, Ohio

Science Applications International Corporation
Tucson, Ariz.

SCI Technology, Inc.
Huntsville, Ala.

Teledyne Brown Engineering, Inc.
Huntsville, Ala.

The Aerospace Corporation
Colorado Springs, Colo.

The Boeing Company, Guidance and Repair Center
Heath, Ohio

White Electronic Designs Corporation
Phoenix, Ariz.